another recall

Logo of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration ...

Image via Wikipedia

Right on the heels of the methotrexate recall from a few weeks ago, here’s another: The FDA pulled Darvon and Darvocet from the market. It is the most recent painkiller to be prescribed to me, but as it’s not one I took very often, it’s not the blow the MTX recall was. Still, it’s just one fewer weapon in my arsenal to fight the psoriatic arthritis.

It’s kind of scary that, after decades on the market, a drug that was thought to be safe could be pulled off, just like that.

It makes me wonder what we’ll learn about the drugs we’re on now 10, 20 or 30 or more years down the road. I guess it’s a balancing act for patients: On one side of the scale, we’ve got to trust our physicians, pharmacists, the FDA, everyone involved in allowing us some semblance of health; on the other, we’ve got to do the research ourselves and trust our guts if we feel as though something isn’t right for us. I guess it all really just underlines one thing for me: the need for a cure. For all of us, regardless of our autoimmune disease. One day—maybe even within my lifetime—I would love to be able to take some treatment, pill, whatever and be done with it all. Until then, though, I’ll keep slugging alone, taking whatever drug straddles the line between helping and harming.

One thought on “another recall

  1. Thanks so much for bringing this to my attention. This is what I take for pain. Crazy!

    On another note–I am so happy for you! Glad you are going to be able to be with family for the holidays.

Fire back:

