brace for impact

Today was supposed to be a good day.

The weather’s nice. It’s Friday. I bought myself some sunflowers at the farmer’s market, and they’re making my little office cheerful and bright.

But then some jerk guy decided to back up into my car.

(OK. I have tried twice now to get WordPress to post the full version of this blog. Hopefully third time’s the charm.)

Luckily, no one was injured and the damage to my car is minor. Things could most certainly have been worse. But it’s brought something into my life that I just don’t need right now: more stress.

I can feel myself on the edge of a flare; I feel as though if I stray to far to the left or right, I’ll plunge on down into one. To prevent that, I’d been trying to take it easy and to really take care of myself: eight hours of sleep per night (that one can be tricky), full compliance on meds, gentle workouts, good food. But all the self-care in the world won’t prevent someone else from blundering in and making a mess. And that’s what this guy did when he hit me; of course, he’s making it worse by trying to come up with different scenarios of how this was my fault that he backed his car into mine, but that’s another story.

As always, I can’t control how other people act, but my actions are up to me. And so I’ll be taking it easy this weekend and hoping against hope that I can pull myself back from the edge of a flare. Fingers crossed.