i’m just a little unwell

I’m in the midst of one of those flares where it seems I can feel the joint destruction. The pain is just a little more intense, a little more malicious. It’s hard to describe, but it’s as if my psoriatic arthritis has decided to kick things up a notch.

Maybe it’s silly to see my arthritis as some kind of creature–and one that’s often malevolent, at that–but during this type of flare, that’s exactly how it seems to me. Joints that normally don’t hurt, not really, are grinding and sending out horrible, grabby tendrils of pain shooting up my limbs, tightening already knotty shoulders.

If it stays like this much longer, I’ll have to get in touch with my NP. I hope it will pass, though, with a little relaxation. Fortunately, that’s exactly what I have in mind for this long weekend: lots of reading and resting, with some NordicTrack and vegan cooking thrown in for good measure. I’m feeling better just thinking about it.