start fresh

Where has September gone? I feel like just yesterday it was the end of July.

Anyway, this lovely meme has been making the rounds for Invisible Illness Week. I’ve done it since 2009, but it’s always fun to see what’s changed.

1. The illness I live with is: psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis.
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:  psoriasis in the late 1990s and PsA in 2005.
3. But I had symptoms since: Psoriasis was a quick diagnosed, but I was diagnosed with PsA in 2006, then changed and now I’m back to PsA again.
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: changing my footwear options. Seriously, people: How hard is it to make cute, comfortable heels?
5. Most people assume: that only old people get arthritis. Ugh.
6. The hardest part about mornings are: stopping myself from hitting the snooze button. Again.
7. My favorite medical TV show is: Scrubs
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: my iPhone. Seriously, how did I get along without that thing?
9. The hardest part about nights are: when I’ve overdone it and everything hurts.
10. Each day I take 10 pills and two weekly injections. 
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: believe they are a part of my treatment regimen but not the whole solution. I don’t function well without the aforementioned pills and injections.
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose:  definitely invisible. I’ve kind of got both; psoriasis, when it’s flaring, is extremely visible. It’s better to be incognito, I think.
13. Regarding working and career:  I love my job. Love, love, love it. Who I am is largely defined by what I do. I would put up with quite a bit in order to be able to work.
14. People would be surprised to know: that I’m in my 20s, apparently. My writing voice must sound older because, in real life, people constantly ask my if I’m a student at nearby major university. It’s the freckles, I think.
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: that I had a new reality. It’s kind of a bummer.
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: run a newspaper. Successfully. (Though I guess it’s a little early to start celebrating on that front. Stupid bad economy.)
17. The commercials about my illness: I don’t have cable, so I don’t see them.
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: not needing nine hours of sleep to feel fully functional.
19. It was really hard to have to give up: I’m trying not to see things in a pessimistic way. So, instead of giving up heels, say, I’m trying to see it as a chance to expand my rockin’ flats collection.
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: sewing.
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: drink some peach sangria and stay up all night reading.
22. My illness has taught me: that even bad things can have upsides.
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “You have arthritis? So, what? I totally have that in my finger/toe/other insignificant joint.” Jerks. I have it in just about every joint and mine happens to be an autoimmune disease, so not quite the same.
24. But I love it when people: just accept me the way I am.
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Pretty much all of Job.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: that they are not alone and that, thought it may seem like it right then, life isn’t over. It’ll just be different.
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: just how many others are dealing with some kind of chronic illness.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: get me supplies for the greatest bubble bath of all time.
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: our diseases are only as invisible as we are.
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: well loved.

3 thoughts on “start fresh

  1. Pingback: year in review « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

Fire back:

