stand up next to you

So, yes. It’s true: I am now a citizen of the U.S. of A. (And also of Canada: I certainly didn’t give that up.)

I got naturalized this morning in a ceremony with about 80 other people, all of whom wanted their names changed from when we originally entered the States. I, of course, got married and that’s why I changed my name. I don’t know about everyone else. Because of our decisions to legally change our names, we had to have a judge preside over the ceremony. It was actually a session of district court, which was kind of cool.

The director of the Durham facility gave a speech, the judge gave a speech, we watched a video about the faces of America, we took the oath of citizenship, said the Pledge of Allegiance and listened to a pre-recorded (duh) speech from President Obama welcoming us as citizens.

Then, they played this song:

For reals.

It still seemed just as corny as it had before, but maybe that kind of appreciation for nationalism comes with time. Who knows.

As for me, I’m just psyched the Constitution now applies to me, I can vote and I can’t get deported. All good things.

Seriously, though, I don’t feel any different, and I don’t really know if I expected to. I am glad to be an American, but I hope it doesn’t make me less Canadian. I don’t think it does, but who knows. I guess that’s kind of a silly thing to worry about; I mean, I haven’t lived in Canada since my U of T days, and before that, since I was 11. Still, that’s a big part of who I am, and I don’t want to lose it.

Well, at least it means I don’t have Stephen Harper as my leader. That’s a pretty nice perk.

Fire back:

