Jon Foreman: Goodness Precedes Greatness: A Call For New Heroes In Troubled Times

Jon Foreman: Goodness Precedes Greatness: A Call For New Heroes In Troubled Times

Posted using ShareThis

Read this. Really.

Jon Foreman, front man and guitarist for Switchfoot, makes a really great point: We need to be the greatness we seek.

There is so much to be discouraged about, so much badness in the world that it would be easy to to get dragged down into the mire and muck with those who would have us join them down there. I know it would; I feel the tug just as much as many others, and perhaps more than most. It’s hard to do good things, and it’s hard to go the extra mile to rise above.

I get it. It’s hard.

But that’s what makes it worthwhile. To paraphrase Tom Hanks in “A League of Their Own,” the hard is what makes it great. That hard is what makes it good. It’s essential to go that extra mile; it’s necessary to fight the good fight. I’m gearing up myself for one, even though I am afraid it will do more harm than good, that it’ll cost me too much, more, perhaps, than I’m willing to pay. I’m getting over that. I’m trying to heed my call to goodness.

In the meantime, I’m trying to be good in my every day life. I’m trying to be slow to anger and quick to forgive. I’m trying to do unto others and turn the other cheek. I’m trying to not worry and be happy. I don’t know if it’s making a difference in anyone else’s world, but it’s making a difference in me.

Fear is a terrible thing, unchecked. It can make us do things we would not otherwise do; it can make us fail to do things we know we should do. It’s an equalizer: Everyone has been afraid at some point in their lives. Even the brave feel fear. Courage is not the absence of fear; instead, it is moving forward in spite of fear.

I am not brave, but I am trying. We’ll see where trying takes me.

One thought on “Jon Foreman: Goodness Precedes Greatness: A Call For New Heroes In Troubled Times

  1. From someone who loves you, but has been mostly watching your story from afar, I’ll say that it’s taking you to some pretty cool places.
    My favourite stories have heroes I admire – not necessarily because they are so brave or wise or good, but because they really really try to be, and I see that in your story for SURE.

Fire back:

