opiate of the masses

Pain killers. I knew there was a reason I didn’t want to take them. You know, other than the whole addictive potential thing.

Saturday night I was not doing well. At all. After about two hours of tossing and turning, wishing more than anything I could get to sleep, I decided to take half of one of the pain pills my nurse practitioner prescribed for me. This oxycodone, which was supposed to only last 12 hours, left me feeling exhausted and nauseous all day Sunday. I slept more than I was awake, because being awake meant I had to struggle not to throw up. It was a great day.

Now, I’d had this reaction before to Tramadol, which Dr. Jerkface prescribed for me, even though I had told him I didn’t want to take a pain-killer. He prescribed it, told me it was just a stronger NSAID and then ignored my calls for a week or two as my joints steadily became more painful. It was a bloody miracle when he magically phoned me back when I agreed to take it. It, too, make me feel violently ill, though not nearly as fatigued as the oxycodone.

Well, lesson learned: Next time I will stick to my guns and not take whatever opiate the doctors prescribed. I’d rather hurt than feel the way I did yesterday. Blech.

7 thoughts on “opiate of the masses

  1. Ugh- so sorry to hear that. *hugs* I tend to be very skimping in pain killers for the same reason (other than the OTC arthritis stuff I take twice a day as needed).

  2. I hate it when I don’t listen to my instincts. But I think there is a lesson in everything, and it’s obvious that this is an important reminder that you know yourself better than anyone. Be well.

  3. I’m so sorry the meds didn’t work for you. Don’t give up on meds for pain. Sometimes we just need something to kick the crap out of the worst of the pain so the other meds will work better. Inflammation gets worse with pain so kicking the worst of the pain is a necessity at times. Keep trying different meds. I went through about six pain meds before I found a combination of two that work for me. Keep trying — you’ll find something that works without nasty side effects. *hugs* to you!

  4. Elisabeth: It sucks, right? I’m hoping my doc and I can find a combination of drugs that works well enough for me that I don’t have to worry about whether or not to take pain pills. Hopefully, you can find the same! (((hugs)))

    Mariah: Thanks! It did cheer me up! I started giggling at work, which I’m sure made my boss think I’m crazy, or something very much like it.

    Diana: Yeah, exactly. I knew the two pain killers weren’t different enough to prevent the really awful side effects. I do know myself better than that. One day, I’ll learn to trust myself better than the doctors. I hope you’re well, too.

    Sherlock: Maybe a combination would work well for me, too! I guess it’s a fine balance between knowing yourself, like Diana said, and trusting the doctors to find something that will work. It’s tough, but both are lessons worth remembering. Thanks for the bit of optimism; I know I could use it! (((hugs)))

  5. oh, man, that sucks. i can’t take opiates either. they make me so incredibly nauseous! as much as i dislike pain, i really, really dislike nausea.

    • Jodi,
      Me too! Most of the time, I can handle pain. Nausea turns me into a big baby, though.

      Pammy,
      Seriously.

Fire back:

