just you and me and the road ahead

At first, when I was thinking about the nicest thing anyone had ever done for me since I’ve had psoriatic arthritis, I just kept drawing a blank. Most people where I live now don’t know about my PsA. In Jersey, pretty much all my friends do because I couldn’t hide it. I was in so much pain before getting my diagnosis and subsequent introduction to the lovely world of immunosuppressants that I couldn’t hide it. I was like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. So, for a few moments, I was in a bit of a bind.

But, really, how could I have written anything but all the amazing, wonderful, loverly things my husband does for me every day? I mean, the man married me, potentially crippling, chronic illness aside. And he makes my life easier, more joyful, more vibrant every day by just being in it.

Still, the best thing he does for me is not let me be too hard on myself because of all the things I can no longer do the way I once did. He tells me I’m strong (even when I don’t feel like it); he doesn’t let me beat myself up if I go passed my limits and just need to crash for a day (or 20); he lets me feel my emotions (when my parents were big on cramming it down and pretending everything was fine).

But most importantly, he loves me, PsA and all. I think that’s a pretty huge deal.

So, thanks baby! I’m glad you’re along for the ride.

(And yes, that is us and our wedding party the day we got married. The title is from our song.)

UPDATED (12:26 p.m. 28 July 2010): Here’s a link to a round-up of everyone else who participated in this round of Patients for a Moment. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “just you and me and the road ahead

  1. Pingback: Personal Care 101

  2. Pingback: Patients for a Moment: Nicest things edition « The Queen of Optimism

Fire back:

