putting the ‘style’ in versatile … or something

The lovely Dana of I Already Gave My Right Arm To Be Ambidextrous has honoured me with the Versatile Blogger Award. Thank you so much, Dana! A bit about her:

I have avascular necrosis in my shoulders, hips, and knees, psoriatic arthritis, sjogren’s, fibromyalgia, and hypermobility. I had my left hip replaced in 2003, and now I had my right shoulder replaced in March of 2010. I literally am giving my right arm to be ambidextrous!

As far as I can tell from an albeit limited Google search, I have to say seven things people may not know about me and nominate seven others for the award. Hmm… Well, here goes:

  1. I went to school in two languages until I was about 12 years old. I grew up in Canada, near Toronto. My mum is French Canadian. When she and my dad met, neither one of them spoke the language of the other. Still, they got married and eventually had me. When I was really young, my mum would speak to me in French and my dad in English. Consequently, I know both languages. Mum told me I would use my abilities to speak both to get things out of my parents. She said when I was about three years old, I asked her for a cookie. She said no. Then, I went to my dad and asked him for one. He said yes because he hadn’t known Mum had already turned me down. I was sneaky even as a toddler.
  2. I really, really, really enjoy the Backstreet Boys and don’t care who knows it. That’s right. The Backstreet Boys. My devotion went so far that I used to write fan fiction about it. Oh yes. I was that girl.
  3. I am a journalist who hates going up to people at events and asking them about it. Really, really hate it. If there was anyway I could do my job without doing that, I would. In fact, I hate it so much, I have been thinking really seriously about getting out and going into teaching. I’m so serious about it, I have narrowed down the schools I would like to attend to get my master’s.
  4. When I attended a large university in Toronto, my friends there called me V-Bot. The explanation is pretty simple: My nickname was already Vee and everyone seemed to think I was a robot because I didn’t sleep much, didn’t eat much and was generally electronic in nature. (As an aside, not too long after I left U of T, I started flaring for the first time.)
  5. I sang in the chorus at my middle and high schools, including a select chorus when I was in grade eight. I only tried out because a friend wanted to audition, and the choral director had everyone do so in pairs. I got in; she didn’t.
  6. I really enjoy playing video games. I had a Sega Genesis as a kid before moving on to Sony consoles and the Nintendo GameCube. My favourite games to play alone are the Final Fantasy series, but I have so many amazing memories of playing Mario Party or Mario Kart: Double Dash in my friend’s basement in high school. I spent many a-night in that basement being a big dork. It was  awesome.
  7. I had a perhaps unhealthy obsession with Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte and other similar novels when I was about 10 or 11 years old. I’m sure that fueled some of my less modern notions about relationships.

That’s it! Now, onto my nominations. I’m going to say none of them are chronic bloggers, mostly because I have other interests than in learning about PsA and am more than just a sick girl.

  1. My good friend bEsther, aka sequesthered, over at esther has a blog. I met her while in university, and she is super smart. She’s also super talented! I am a little jealous of her musicality, truth be told. Right now, she is in Korea.
  2. I am kind of obsessed with Kendi over at Kendi Eveyday. She is a fashion blogger with a sense of humour. I rarely get dressed in the morning without popping over there to see what she’s wearing. We have different styles, but I think being fashionable and taking care of myself in that way is important. Most importantly, she’s hilarious. Really.
  3. Marisa at New Dress A Day was in a bit of a style rut when she decided to start blogging. She gets dresses that have seen better days, alters them and shows of her shiny new outfits for the world to see. She is doing it for an entire year and spending only $365. No shopping for clothes other than the ones she’s going to alter. She makes me wish I could sew!
  4. This one isn’t a blog, so much as Stuff Journalists Like. Even on days I hate my job, SJL always makes me laugh. And it’s pretty much all true. Maybe non-journos won’t find it finny, but it is pure comedic gold to me.
  5. Gabe at Pit of Despair is a friend of mine, and his journal comic is really good. It’s about his various adventures as a husband, dad, drummer and artist. He hand inks everything, which is really impressive! Like Marisa, he makes me wish I could draw.
  6. Everything the klutzy chef makes looks delish. It makes me wish I could cook. … I’m noticing a theme, here.
  7. Pammy Girl of Hey There, Pammy Girl! is someone I wish I knew in real life. She sounds like a blast, and her blog is awesome. For real.

Thanks again, Dana! Everyone, I hope you enjoy the blogs.

2 thoughts on “putting the ‘style’ in versatile … or something

  1. i’ve consider leaving journalism for the same reason. but mine extend beyond just going up to people at events. i seriously had making cold calls to people i have never met and probably never will me. it’s very stressful. i’m slowly learning that the worst thing people can do is just tell me to go away. if i remember that i’m usually fine. i would hate to see you leave jouranlism, i think your passion and writing can really make a difference.

  2. It’s so weird to see you write “when I was in university,” like it’s a time far far away. And it is! I’m glad we’re still in touch (albeit, via blog-stalking). Thinking back and then reading your blog, I don’t even know if I knew you very well, even though we were insanely in sync and really close for a while. I think that’s actually really cool. Like we’re big long novels, and I could love you even though I only knew a piece of a chapter.

    Oh, and thanks for the props.

    🙂

Fire back:

