touch a hundred flowers and not pick one

On Wednesday, the day after my perennial worst day of the week, I came home from work grumpy and out of sorts. But, my lovely husband had bought me a beautiful bouquet of flowers, with sunflowers, a green and purple plant that looked similar to nettles, yellow daisies and this amazing purple-y indigo flower. It brightened my day and brought this poem to mind:

“Afternoon on a Hill”
Edna St. Vincent Millay

I will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.

I will look at cliffs and clouds
With quiet eyes,
Watch the wind bow down the grass,
And the grass rise.

And when lights begin to show
Up from the town,
I will mark which must be mine,
And then start down!

I think I need a day like that, a day to be happy and vibrant and out in nature. Maybe when the weather cools off from the triple-digit temperatures we’ve been having, we’ll take our seasonal stroll through a local garden. That would be perfect.

One thought on “touch a hundred flowers and not pick one

  1. It really is all about the little things, isn’t it? I’m glad you have a guy who takes care of you like this. There are few things in the world that cheer me up as much as having fresh flowers in the house – and when they’re a surprise from someone I love, it’s even better 🙂

Fire back:

