going to the green side

I was thinking about all of the hullabaloo generated by self-avowed carnivore and psoriatic arthritis sufferer Phil Mickelson’s apparent change to a vegetarian diet to control his PsA and the inflammation it brings. Though there seems to be some debate over the validity of this, a few studies I found seem to have found a link between a vegetarian or vegan diet and reduced inflammation, like this one.

It got me thinking. When I was in high school and through part of university, I was a vegetarian — though I did still eat some dairy. This was after I was diagnosed with psoriasis, though the good doc never mentioned anything about it being an immunological disease. But within months after going back to eating meat (including rare steak: yum!), I developed psoriatic arthritis.

Now, I’m not trying to say steak caused my PsA. (Though, wouldn’t it be nice if getting rid of a chronic disease was as easy as saying good-bye to steak?) Still, I decided to give it a try again. Sure, it may not do much of anything for me, but, at this point, I’m willing to give almost anything a try.

To that end, I made a (modified) version of the grilled portobello tacos with salsa verde from Vegetarian Times. I had planned on making the salsa verde, but after a particularly terrible day at work (preceded by two 12-hour days), I decided to pick some up from Trader Joe’s instead. I also used the Trader Joe’s broccoli slaw instead of cabbage and I used whole grain tortillas instead of white flour ones. Oh, and I added a smidge of cheese.

It was awesome.

I should have added more salsa verde, but other than that it was really great. I am glad I still have all the ingredients, so I can make some later in the week, too.

If all my vegetarian endeavours are this tasty, I’ll be golden! Or, um, green.

2 thoughts on “going to the green side

  1. Pingback: why i don’t eat animals « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

  2. Pingback: i’m loving … chocolate covered katie « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

Fire back:

