the benefits of ‘loving with chronic illness’

The always wonderful Maya of Loving with Chronic Illness has posted a plea for help on her blog. Her boyfriend’s two sisters have Friedreich’s Ataxia, and his mother is participating in Ride Ataxia Philadelphia, a bike ride to raise money for and awareness about the disease. I know times are tight with everyone, but head over and read her post. We Chronic Babes have to stick together, right?

Here’s an excerpt from her boyfriend’s mum’s letter to friends and family, taken from Maya’s site:

I remember at Sara’s diagnosis in 1996 when the doctor said that potential cures would be the year 2000 or beyond; that seemed like a lifetime. Well, never in my wildest dreams did I think that in 2010, I would still be waiting. Little did I understand what it takes to cure a disease.

On September 26, Sara and I are travelling to Philadelphia to the Children’s Hospital to begin a drug trial that will last a couple of months with 5 separate trips to Philly. This is one of several studies that are underway or will be underway in the months to come. Both Sara and Laura will participate in another study here in Rochester next Spring. Finally, a little hope has arrived at our door. Our years of fund raising and contributing have meant something.

To find out more, head over to Maya’s site. I know I will.
Fire back:

