belly ache

A Westclox Big Ben Clock

Image via Wikipedia

It’s not often that after a rough day, I’m given exactly what I need to feel better. But let me rewind a bit. Monday night, before I went to sleep, instead of the muscle relaxant I take to help me sleep, I took half a pain pill (Darvocet, this time), hoping it would give me the pain relief without the side effects. Instead, I woke up Tuesday morning in an incredible amount of pain and stiffer than I am most mornings.I thought that would be the end of it, but I was wrong again.

About 10 hours in to what turned out to be a 15-hour day (9 a.m until 12 a.m.), the lightheaded-ness that had plagued me all day turned into nausea and then the, uh, natural outcome of nausea. I struggled through the next few hours and finally made it home around 12:40. When I finally fell asleep around 2 a.m., I was not looking forward to Wednesday. But, around 5:30 a.m., my husband woke me up because he had an awful migraine and wanted me to send out an e-mail to his students canceling class. After I did that, I e-mailed my big boss (the boss above my editor) to let him know I would not be in.

And then my husband and I slept until 12:30 p.m. and would have slept longer had I not needed to feed the cat and the dog.

It. Was. Awesome.

Even though I spent most of the rest of today trying to eat enough so that I didn’t feel nauseated but not so much that I threw it all back up (MAN, was I wishing for some ginger Gravol!), it was really nice to be able to spend a day with the mister and the “kids.”

So, thanks, incredible sensitivity to pain meds for giving me a day to hang out with my family.

2 thoughts on “belly ache

Fire back:

