in the eye of the beholder

It’s no secret that I like lipstick; the name of my blog and my header both contain references to that most awesome of pigmented products.

Still, not all lipsticks are created equal. Some have great colour but dry out my lips. Some are moisturizing but have terrible colours or colours that don’t last. Having a lipstick that doesn’t dry out my lips is key; I don’t know if it’s my psoriasis or something else entirely, but when I have a bad psoriasis flare, my lips get all flaky and rough. That means, of course, lipstick doesn’t settle properly.

But, at last, I have found the holy grail of lipsticks: The Body Shop’s Colourglide Lipstick. (Disclosure: The Body Shop has not given me anything for this review. Though I wouldn’t turn it down it if they did!) Oh, and another thing that helps is their Lip Scuff, which feels like a mix of Burt’s Bees chapstick and an exfoliating scrub. Seriously, after one use my lips looked normal again.

But as for the lipstick, I have two colours: a nude (clover pink) and a lovely dark colour (midnight berry). Even though I normally find darker lipsticks really dry out my lips, after a few days’ exclusive use of the berry colour, they feel fantastic. They both wear well (instead of the odd patterns of wear that sometimes accompany lipstick), make me look great and feel amazing on.

It’s just another trick in my arsenal of looking healthy and normal, of not looking like someone with chronic, painful, embarrassing diseases.

Plus, of course, I love The Body Shop’s commitment to social justice: They don’t test on animals and they are huge supporters of the anti-human trafficking movement.

The bottom line: Every other lipstick I have in my collection should beware. The Body Shop’s Colourglide Lipstick is hands-down the best I’ve ever tried.

3 thoughts on “in the eye of the beholder

  1. I never, ever wear lipstick – mostly because I’m a total chapstick addict. I’ve been thinking lately that maybe I should mix it up a bit, and I’d love to try a nice deep red. I love the Body Shop. I think I’m going to give this a try!

  2. I’ve never been much for lipstick, mainly because I have a hard time finding colors that look decent on me along with lipsticks that actually feel good and stay on nicely. Plus, the colors tend to change once they’re on my lips. Go figure.

    Still, you’ve got me intrigued. Next time I’m out, I’ll check out the Body Shop’s lipstick offerings. Maybe I’ll wear lipstick yet!

  3. Ooh- I may have to try this! Most lipsticks are too heavy, and most glosses don’t last. I also have super dry, flaky lips and I tend to chew on them if they’re dry, so more reason to keep them hydrated. Congrats on the find!

Fire back:

