new turkey(less) day plans

Thanksgiving Dinner, Falmouth, Maine, USA 2008

Image via Wikipedia

My vegetarian journey is going pretty well. Meat (of any kind: pork, beef, poultry, seafood; some people keep making me things with seafood in it because it’s not meat, apparently) is definitely one of my triggers; every time I accidentally eat some (there are animal products in tons of things I never would have thought of), I feel pretty terrible the next day.

Now, since the mister and I are going to my in-laws for (American) Thanksgiving, I’ve been trying to find some vegetarian options, so I would have mountains of mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce for dinner that night. Once again, the New York Times has pulled through for me. On their health blog, Well, they’ve created a new feature: Well’s Vegetarian Thanksgiving. Every day until Thanksgiving Day, they’re adding another vegetarian recipe perfect for the holiday. Right now, I’m loving the maple roasted Brussels sprouts, the Thanksgiving roasted root veggies and the skillet macaroni and cheese, and so many more.

So, now I’m psyched again for a tasty Thanksgiving, even if it’s not the traditional one I remember. Thanks, New York Times!

Fire back:

