mr. bump

I have been giving myself shots for a long time. I started Humira injections in 2005, and since then, I’ve added Enbrel and methotrexate to the list.

For most of those five years, I used plain, ol’, boring band-aids to cover up the injection site.

But not too long ago, I had an epiphany: Why not use some of those fun band-aids? But that was easier said than done. Most of those bandages are marketed to kids, and they feature things like Cars or Hello Kitty or the new Strawberry Shortcake. I feared I would never find something whimsical that I could relate to to plaster onto my body every Sunday, after injecting the Yellow Dart.

Then, I did.

As a kid, I always loved the Little Miss and Mr. Men books. Even now, seeing them in the local used bookstore brings a smile to my face. And so I was thrilled to find “fabric bandages” with all my favourite characters on them, including Mr. Bump. (Right now, I’m sporting Mr. Strong!)

Sure, giving myself an injection every week kind of sucks, but now at least I can slap on Little Miss Sunshine or Mr. Tickle and find something to smile about, instead.

3 thoughts on “mr. bump

  1. I like this moment :’Sure, giving myself an injection every week kind of sucks, but now at least I can slap on Little Miss Sunshine or Mr. Tickle and find something to smile about, instead.”
    that sounds funny πŸ™‚
    Thank you for the post, and keep sharing .
    King Regards

Fire back:

