flaretown, pop: me

An illustration by W. W. Denslow from The Wond...

Image via Wikipedia

This latest flare of mine has definitely taken a turn for the worse. Everything hurts, even joints that don’t normally trouble me: both shoulders, the top and bottom part of my spine (but not the centre), hips, knees, my left wrist. I feel a bit like the  Tin Man, from the Wizard of Oz; if only all I needed to keep from being rusty was a bit of oil.

I guess this means the triple therapy my rheumatologist suggested at our last meeting isn’t working. I’m not really sure what my options are now; I’ve tried a lot of different things already to various degrees of success. I guess that’s why I see my rheumatologist, to have a partner in finding the best treatment for me right now.

I tend to do best on biologics, even if they don’t push me completely into remission. I’m not too keen on trying Simponi—one of the few I haven’t been on—because of the side effects; maybe because it’s usually more effective for people with psoriatic arthritis, like me, its potential side effects are particularly devastating. But I guess I’ll hold onto my concerns and see what my rheumatologist has to say. I have an appointment next month, but I hope she can see me sooner; I’m not so sure I’ll make it to my appointment in one piece.

Still, I’m trying to look on the bright side. I had to leave work early today, but at least I got a short nap in. All of this pain and exhaustion is forcing me to slow down, which means I get to spend more time with the Professor. That’s always a good thing.

So, I wait and see, and try to keep my spirits up. At the moment, that’s enough.

3 thoughts on “flaretown, pop: me

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention flaretown, pop: me « lipstick, perfume and too many pills -- Topsy.com

  2. Oh girl, I’m really sorry to hear you are hurting so much. You are in my thoughts and prayers today. And dare I say, I think this calls for a little online retail therapy!! People can judge me all they want and call it superficial. But it sure puts a smile on my face when I feel like junk. Big hug! -Kelli
    BTW–the Messiah link gave me chills at the end and also put a smile on my face. Thanks for sharing!

Fire back:

