you have to walk a mile in her shoes

One of my favourite pairs of shoes.

On my way home from work yesterday, I decided to stop at DSW for a little shoe shopping, ostensibly to pick up a pair of work-appropriate flats to continue babying my aching joints and muscles.

I wandered through the aisles, finding a few I liked. But by the time I hit the end of the women’s shoe section, most of the boxes I held in my arms contained pumps.

Oh, how I enjoyed trying them all on! I sashayed around the store in my favourites, feeling sexy and feminine and powerful in a way I haven’t in in a long time, since, well, since I was last able to wear heels comfortably.

Though there was one pair of shoes I especially loved and another I really struggled with leaving behind (I’ll take them in an 8.5, thanks!), I didn’t end up buying any. Even so, that experience was a boost I needed; though I may not be 100 percent ready yet, I’m closer to being able to wear heels full-time than I’ve been in a long time. And knowing that is worth more to me than any (extremely hot) Ann Marino pumps.

4 thoughts on “you have to walk a mile in her shoes

  1. We have similar taste in shoes- I would’ve had a hard time walking away from BOTH pairs. 🙂 It’s amazing how little moments like that can make a difference, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Sure is! It really is the smallest things that can make the biggest difference. And I think DSW is taunting me; I woke up to a $10 off coupon in my e-mail this morning!

  2. Those red shoes are so sexy/cute! I’ve never been able to pull off heels for long periods of time, but I really like the first linked pair too! Just trying on shounds like a great way to get a “shoe fix” without breaking your wallet. ;}

Fire back:

