prescription for the winter blahs

I’ve got a bit of a secret: I hate winter.

I didn’t used to hate it, but ever since I moved to the South I have. Here, winter doesn’t mean snow and cozy layers; it means ice and rain and random 70-degree days. On days like today, which was miserable and rainy and cold, I like to do nothing more than to curl up in my pajamas with a good book and a mug of tea. Since I had to work today, that wasn’t going to happen.

I do have a few tricks up my sleeves for defeating the winter blahs, even when I have to work.

via WeLoveColor.com

Bright tights are definitely one of the headier weapons in my arsenal. I absolutely adore coloured tights, and they’re great to punch up an otherwise professional and conservative outfit. They also bright a smile to the face of pretty much anyone who sees them, making them a great grey winter day addition. (Seriously. Try to stay bummed out while wearing magenta tights. It’s just not going to happen.)

Hot beverages. Today, I went to my favourite local coffee shop and ordered a delicious soy hot chocolate. Hot cocoa or a nice cup of tea always makes me feel better on a cold winter day. Heck, they always make me feel better regardless, even if (especially if) I’m having a bad disease day.

Reading. Books are kind of magic; they take us to places we couldn’t ordinarily go. That’s pretty amazing. So, if it’s dreary outside (or, again, if my psoriasis or psoriatic arthritis are flaring up and I don’t really want to be myself, just for a little bit), I love to escape into books by some of my favourite authors, like Nicole Krauss or Jonathan Safran Foer or Kurt Vonnegut or C.S. Lewis.

Warm sweaters and TV. Even though the Professor and I don’t get cable anymore, we still love watching TV via Netflix. And it’s always fun on a bad day to just get into some warm and soft and veg out in front of the tube. That’s especially true when it feels like the PSA is more in control of what I can do than I am.

What’s your favourite cure for the winter blahs?

7 thoughts on “prescription for the winter blahs

  1. ahhh!!! i agree with all of these things. i recently bought magenta and purple tights and everyone in the newsroom loves them! and the kids at the schools i cover love them too so it’s a double bonus. today was pretty dreary here too so after standing outside covering a car accident for two hours i came home to snuggle up and watch say yes to the dress and read nicole krauss’ latest book “great house.” btw, if you haven’t read “great house” you need to! not all the reviews i read are great, but i’m absolutely in love with it.

    take care!

  2. It sure is those occasional 70 degree days that just mess me up in the winter. I wish it would just stay either cold or warm … I think my body would be much happier that way! Thanks for sharing your colorful and warm tips.

  3. I prefer snow to ice, absolutely, based on the handful of ice storms I’ve experienced. We get the occasional surprise 70-degree day in Denver in the middle of winter, probably not as much as you. Gets me way too excited for spring (and gives my SAD fuel).

    Nothing better than hot tea or coffee while wearing a comfy sweater.

  4. There is nothing like a good book to make you totally forget about your problems. I read Eat, Pray, Love.. Before it was adapted into a movie that didn’t do it nearly justice and I was in another world. Dreaming about eating Margarita Pizza in Italy instead of scratching the heck out of my psoriatic scalp!
    Another favorite I couldn’t put down was The Girl with The Dragon tattoo. Weirdly all the books I like end up becoming movies (and then they don’t seem so cool)… Any good recommendations?

  5. I am feeling blah lately, too. When oh when is all of this snow going to melt? I’ve been doing yoga, making sure I get outside whenever I see the sun some out, and thinking about things I want to try to grow this spring and summer. It’s got to warm up soon, right?

Fire back:

