keep fit and have fun

Netflix

Image via Wikipedia

All of us with chronic illness know how important it is to at least attempt some kind of fitness regimen. Psoriasis has been linked with metabolic syndrome, hypertension and diabetes, among many other things. Exercise can at least help reduce the risk of those things, along with eating properly, medication and more.

For me, exercise is important. I don’t do it as much as I should, and it’s so easy to get off track. There are a million excuses, even excluding the usual suspects (laziness, too busy, procrastination): flares, brain fog and mind-numbing fatigue, to just name a few.

So, what’s a girl to do? I try doing things that are enjoyable, to at least increase the probability that I’ll make time to exercise. I do yoga at home; Netflix even has a yoga for aches and pains available through instant stream that is incredible. It’s also about 45 minutes long, so I definitely have to plan that one into my day. Now that it’s warming up and the flare that plagued me last year has (mostly) eased up, I can kept back into my morning walks with my dog and joining the Professor on evening walks with Otis. I really enjoyed getting up and outside before most people were out and about; it gave me a good amount of time to just centre myself and get ready to start my day.

I think exercise needs to become a must-do for me; none of this putting it off to a later that never comes. I need a little accountability, I think, or maybe a reward system, like Elisabeth has. Anyone want to be workout buddies?

4 thoughts on “keep fit and have fun

  1. I’ll be your workout buddy! I am really trying to get back into walking, and have set myself a goal to walk a 5k in April. Sadly, I wasn’t able to meet my goal last year- I had a bad flare. But even if I don’t make it this year, practising and training is good for me, and socializing with people outside of work is a huge plus! I may have ramped up a bit too fast- my spring allergies are doing a number on my lungs, but having a clear goal (and people to cheer me on!) is a huge help and I’ll be happy to shake pom-poms for you!

    • Yay! I guess we need to come up with some kind of system to keep us accountable? (And I need to come up with some goals!) Hmm…

  2. I am wondering if netflix in Canada (where I’m at) has that yoga stream. Nessie, what is it called so I can look for it? Thanks, Kathy Exercise is so important for my fibromyalgia and I tried yoga recently but it damn near killed me and it was not even close to a “therapeutic” style of yoga…

    • It’s called Healing Yoga for Aches and Pains, and it’s fantastic. It’s split into three sections that you can do all at once or mix and match.

Fire back:

