#HAWMC day nine: worth overdoing

Today, I really overdid it.

All week, I could feel  my body fighting something off. I was fatigued and achy. My throat become sore later in the week. And then, like an idiot, I took my methotrexate injection; I was so drained, I didn’t even think about what a bad idea that was.

And today, I woke up feeling terrible. But today was my local Walk to Cure Psoriasis, and I’d been looking forward to it for months; I wasn’t going to let a little thing like being sick get in the way. Plus, my mum and mother-in-law were coming in from out of town, and I didn’t want to disappoint them.

So, the Professor and I got up early, and somehow made our way over to where they were holding the walk. And it. Was. Cold. Friday was sunny, beautiful, with a high of 83. Sunday is supposed to be about the same. Today? I don’t think it got out of the low 50s, if even that. But we made it through the walk, and then headed out to get breakfast. That was helpful; I had fruit and a bagel and a big glass of freshly squeezed OJ. That perked me up a bit, so my mum, mother-in-law and I headed over to the local flea market. We all found some great stuff—including, for me, this great, 1940s citrine ring and a great, vintage needlepoint broach—before heading back to my mother-in-law’s place. The Professor and I had planned to stay for dinner, but the whole week of just relentlessly pushing myself and ignoring the signs my body was giving me came crashing down. We came home, and I went to sleep.

I don’t know why I keep doing this; I think I can just push through feeling terrible without any consequences. And that’s just not true. Even though I’ve had psoriatic arthritis for almost six years now, it’s a lesson this crazy disease keeps beating me over the head with: There are consequences for every action. Doing one things means I can’t do something else. And ignoring that gives me a day like today. Still, even if it wasn’t necessarily the best of ideas, I’m glad I went out to the walk; it was to see so many people supporting people like me. And that’s just what the doctor ordered.

4 thoughts on “#HAWMC day nine: worth overdoing

  1. You’re a tough one, Nessie, heading out on the Walk even though you were feeling awful, and then going on to peruse a flea market. It’s great that you found some pretty things, though–that can make it worthwhile, you know?

    Here’s wishing you a very restful, restorative Sunday, with gentle temps, a soft sofa and some good movies to watch while you refuel for the coming week. Sending warm hugs your way. 😉

  2. Pingback: #HAWMC day 10: no big secret « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

  3. Thanks, Wren! That’s exactly the kind of Sunday I’ve had so far—and what I desperately needed! I’ve got an adorable kitten curled up in my lap as I type this, my husband has been awesome and it’s been an uncomfortably congested but still relaxing day.

    Also, you say tough, I say idiotic. Tomato, tomato. 😛

  4. Pingback: year in review « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

Fire back:

