i’m just a little unwell

I’m in the midst of one of those flares where it seems I can feel the joint destruction. The pain is just a little more intense, a little more malicious. It’s hard to describe, but it’s as if my psoriatic arthritis has decided to kick things up a notch.

Maybe it’s silly to see my arthritis as some kind of creature–and one that’s often malevolent, at that–but during this type of flare, that’s exactly how it seems to me. Joints that normally don’t hurt, not really, are grinding and sending out horrible, grabby tendrils of pain shooting up my limbs, tightening already knotty shoulders.

If it stays like this much longer, I’ll have to get in touch with my NP. I hope it will pass, though, with a little relaxation. Fortunately, that’s exactly what I have in mind for this long weekend: lots of reading and resting, with some NordicTrack and vegan cooking thrown in for good measure. I’m feeling better just thinking about it.

9 thoughts on “i’m just a little unwell

  1. I’m going through the same sort of ramped up pain with my RA and bursitis, Nessie, so I can totally empathize with you. I hope relaxing and taking care will work to relieve your flare. I’m basically doing the same thing. It’ll be a quiet weekend.

    Sending calm and comfort your way.

  2. Just checking in to see how you’re doing…

    I’ve been dealing with more flare than usual over the last 2-3 weeks too – and my friend just reminded me that the same thing happened the last TWO years. Weirdness. Must be something in the atmosphere.

    ANYWAY. The point is, I’ve been thinking about you and hoping you’re on the mend!

    • Hey girl. I’ve been better. Went on a mini-vacation with the in-laws and ate stuff I shouldn’t have. I’m paying for it now. I’m thinking of doing an elimination diet—we’ll see how it goes. I hope you’re doing better, too. It seems a lot of us are flare-y right now (Wren, too!). Thanks for checking in. 🙂

  3. I hope you feel better now. I hate those kinds of flareups. They always make me worry like crazy that I should be having an xray taken just to make sure.

    *hugs*

Fire back:

