just desserts: vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookies

I love peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. Love. Them. Before I went vegetarian/vegan, I would get these delicious cookies from the local grocery co-op near my work; however, as they were made with dairy and eggs, I had to give them up.

Then—inspired by Chocolate-Covered Katie—I realised I could just turn my favourite peanut butter cookie recipe vegan. So, I did. And the results are delicious! (Except when I get too impatient to eat them, and I take them out before they’re fully done. They’re still tasty, then, but they don’t stay together very well. Oops.)

Amazing vegan peanut butter chocolate chip cookies

2/3 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup vegan margarine

2/3 cup brown sugar (I’ve also used agave, with yummy results. Use less and reduce the liquid if you go that route)

1-1/2 teaspoons Ener-G egg replacer

2 tablespoons water

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons non-dairy milk (I’ve used soy and almond)

3/4 cup non-bleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

non-dairy chocolate chips to taste

 

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix egg replacer and water in a small bowl. (I use a whisk. You really need to make sure there aren’t any hidden lumps, which is fun.) Set aside.

2. In a big mixing bowl, cream together peanut butter, sweetener and margarine.

3. Mix in soy milk, egg replacer and vanilla.

4. Sift in flour and baking powder a bit at a time. Add salt.

5. Add chocolate chips.

6. Place cookies on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

7. Bake for 8 to 15 minutes or until edges are lightly browned but centre is still soft.

8. Let cool and enjoy!

 

Fire back:

