always something there to remind me

It all started about seven years ago.

I had just gotten home from an amazing vacation in Bermuda visiting some friends. I was sitting in my first class at a new school when I got the first twinges of what I would eventually be told was psoriatic arthritis. The nearly yearlong wait from first symptom to first rheumatologist appointment was horrific; the only thing my regular doctor would give me while I waited was an old-school prescription NSAID—so I mainlined that and took far more than the recommended daily dose of Aleve.

It’s crazy to think that one thing changed my life so drastically. I’ve had flares and good periods, been on so many drugs and met a ton of awesome people, in real life (thanks National Psoriasis Foundation volunteer conference) and online (thanks, blogging). But I guess it hasn’t changed much at the same time. I’m doing well in the field of my choice—one that’s demanding and difficult for the healthy. I’m married. And I’m happy.

As I sit here, thinking about my life and enjoying my drink of the month (a Dogfish Head Punkin Ale, yum), I’d say I’m doing pretty well for myself, with or without chronic illness. That’s not to say life is perfect—I’ve still got more pain and inflammation than I’d like, and I’m still grappling with some potentially life-altering decisions. But overall, life is pretty good. And I’ll take that.

6 thoughts on “always something there to remind me

  1. Blogging about chronic illness has certainly allowed me to meet people I might not have otherwise. (Is it a blessing in disguise?)

    Oh…and mmm…pumpkin beer

  2. “Dogfish Head Punkin Ale”?? Sounded so good I Googled it up. Yeah it does look good!

    You made me smile with the comment about Aleve. I put up with PsA pain for 3 years before finally getting it diagnosed – I always thought I had just aggravated something through sports / exercise as I initially only had it in my feet. It moved to my hips and back – which I attributed to a side effect of changing my gait due to sore feet. Then it got to my ribs which made sleeping difficult. I think I blamed that on chest exercises at the gym! I was constantly rotating acetaminophen and iboprufen – the only things I could get OTC.

    Why 3 years? Maybe it is something about guys being more thick skulled? 🙂

  3. Yeah, I’d say life is pretty good for me, too. I think it’s a matter of mind over matter; the pain is still there, along with the inflammation, fatigue, dry mouth, and GI issues, but I’ve chosen not to let it stop me. I’m going to do what makes me happy, whether I’m flaring up or not, whether I have a diagnosis or not. It’s taken me a long time to get to this point, but I’m happy I’m here. I’m happy you’re here, too. I’m so glad to have “met” you!

  4. Pingback: year in review « lipstick, perfume and too many pills

Fire back:

