medical jargon: studies show anti-TNF drugs don’t raise cancer risk

There was an interesting Arthritis Today Magazine article sent to me by the Arthritis Foundation not too long ago: Several studies have found there is not statistically significant cancer risk for those who take anti-TNF medications, like Enbrel or Remicade.

This could be a big deal; even though I take a TNF-blocker (hello, Enbrel) and I’ve been on several others in the past (hi there, Humira and Remicade and Orencia) because they’re the only things I’ve found so far that make my psoriatic arthritis manageable, I was and remain aware of the potential for an increased risk of cancer. I imagine all of us on these types of drugs have that knowledge in the back of our minds, and I’m certainly aware of people who decided not to take these drugs because of that risk. It’s a choice only each of us can make.

But, perhaps, this will put some minds at ease and allow more people to get on these treatments—if that’s what they want. I know they’ve helped me, and I wouldn’t be able to do everything I do without Enbrel, as I found out last year when I went off it for just six months and quickly found myself in one of the worst flares I’ve ever experienced. So, despite the risks, I’ll take my weekly injection; even so, this will let my mind rest a bit easier.